Pawshake logo
Charlene

Cat Specialist Host

Almere poort
29 time favorited
7 recurring guests
Last booked 2 days ago
Last contacted 8 days ago
Lives with 3 cats
22 h ago
Last activity
100%
Response rate
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
10 EUR for each additional pet
15 EUR
/night
All services and rates

About Charlene

Hi everyone,

If you look for a cat sitter then I can be the one you are looking for. From a pet parents perspective, I understand that you feel worried about your cats when you are away. Thousands of scenarios can happen!! No more unneccessary worries if you choose me as your cat sitter:)



A little bit about myself. I'm from Vietnam but I have lived in the Netherlands for 7 years for my study and started building my family here with my husband and 3 cats, 2 male Lo & Yo and 1 female Luna. I have always loved cats as I grew up with them so they have been an indispensable part of my life. I have become a cat sitter for 3 years now and I do mostly onboarding and home visit. I will explain below what my way of working is and what you can expect. 

On-boarding service

This service is perfect for owners who have only 1 cat in the house. When you are gone, your fur baby might get bored and in need of human interaction, why not give him/her a chance to explore new things and have a new experience?

Benefits your cats can get:
- Human attention all the time (as I work from home, if I go out, it will be only 4 hrs max)
- Cats friends (with my own cats)
- Lots of attentions and play times everyday
- Health monitoring 
- Same routine as home

I have successfully introduced more than 25 new cats of different breeds to my place, from kittens (3 months) to adult cats (15 years). The average introduction time is around 2-3 days depending on the cat's personality.
For cats that are younger than 3 years old, I can take them in without an intake meeting. If you prefer to have one, we can always arrange it 😇

What happens when the new cat enters the house?
I will put them in a separate room, even applied for cats who have stayed with me before. I will get used to them slowly and monitor their behaviors. Once they get used to my existence and trust me, I will start introducing them to my cats, one by one. Normally I start with Yo, the most friendly one, then Lo and then Luna. Afterwards, I will let the new fellas walk outside of the room and explore their vacation home. It might sound like lots of steps but your fur baby is capable of learning new things much faster than you think!😉 Any doubts, any questions, feel free to drop me a message. 

P/s: Returning cats remember the smell and recognize the environment faster compared to totally new cats, thus, the introduction time is also shorten.

Home visit service

I offer this service for people who live in the neighborhood close to me. Since I have limited times to travel, please kindly provide me your address in advance so I can check whether I can travel every day to help you with your pets. 

For this service, besides cats, I can help take care of other animals also such as hamsters, chinchillas, birds, etc. But you might need to give me some guidance in how you want me to take care of them😄

1 visit will take around 30 minutes depends on the number of pets and the amount of work I have to do.

What do I do?
- Give food (wet, dry food)
- Refresh water
- Clean the food bowls, water bowls
- Clean the litterbox
- Take out trash, clean the room/cage (please help to make the equipments available so I can do it efficiently)
- Play with the cats or cuddle times
- Water the plants (if you have any)
- Give medication (pills or needles) if needed
- Basic grooming/nails clipping if needed
- Any more specific requests? Let me know😊😉

My Motto

Flexible, flexible, flexible

If you asked my previous clients, you probably will hear that I'm very flexible in my way of working. As long as you communicate your needs in advance, I will try my best to accommodate it and make it easier for you. Dont worry if your friends/relatives change their minds at the last minute to take care of your fur baby, I will be your saver. I'm very flexible so everything is possible and also negotiable😁 Feel free to drop me a message anytime!

Safety first

I always try to make a safe and fun environment for the cats depend on what they need. This means that if they want to be alone, I will let them be alone. I will aways respect their ways and find my way to work with it. I do not force the cats most of the time. I have no tolerance, however, towards any aggressive or negative behaviors. I will intervene and keep a safe environment for the cats. 

Communication is key

From a cats parent's perspective, I understand that you are always worried and want to know how your babies are doing and if they are feeling fine.
I always try to keep owners informed everyday about their cats situations. I will make sure my updates are constant enough throughout the day (2-3 times) with videos/pictures. If you think it's not enough or it's too much, let me know. We can always look for other options to make you feel more secured and comfortable with my service.

My place

I believe when you are on vacation, your cats are on vacation too when they stay at my place. I live now in a house in Almere Oostvaarders with garden. There are many places in the house for the cats to roam around and have their own places. With this advantage, I can introduce 3 different cats from the different owners at the same time. 

My cats temperament 

They are super sweet and social to all humans and cats. So if you want a companionship for your cat then Lo, Yo and Luna can be the perfect ones. No more afraid that your baby will be alone in an empty house. But then it also means if you want to leave your cats with me during your holiday. Your cats need to be comfortable with having my cats around.

My youngest cat, Yo is always my assistant. He is super friendly towards cats and humans. He has lots of energy and always want to play. He is very persistent to get to know new cats so you probably will see him in all the videos that I send. Cats with high level of energy will find Yo a perfect company.

My eldest cat, Lo is the alpha in the house. Lo is very gentle and never uses claw to threaten anyone. He is often sitting in the back and watches what others do but once he is comfortable, he will initiate the play and groom the new cat. Some cats find Lo more pleasant to be with compared to Yo as Lo gives them spaces and Lo has a calm energy in general.

My only girl in the house, Luna. She is skittish about everything. Luna prefers to be alone but she accepts new cats rather easily. She just doesn't want to be close to them. So you probably will see her in the back. But be assured that she never initiates a fight. If she doesn't like something, she simply just walks away and finds her own space somewhere else.

I hope there is enough information for you to make decisions. If there are any doubts, questions, feel free to drop me a message. Hope to hear from you soon 😇😊

Best regards, 
Charlene

Charlene's services

At the sitters's home

Dog Boarding
Overnight stay at the sitter's home
10 EUR for each additional pet
15 EUR
/night

At your home

One home visit a day
Book a pet sitter to stop by your home to feed and play with your pet
15 EUR
/day
Two home visits a day
Two drop-in visits for your pet
25 EUR
/day

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

reviews

starstarstarstarstar
Communication
starstarstarstarstar
Conscientious
starstarstarstarstar
Profile accuracy
starstarstarstarstar
Treatment of animals
starstarstarstarstar
Value
starstarstarstarstar
Home Visits
Clyde, 2022-09-27

Charlene did a wonderful job, both our cats welcomed her due to her clearly visible experience with cats!

Would plan her again the next time we go on a holiday!

starstarstarstarstar
Dog Boarding
Nico, 2022-08-19

So happy that I found Charlene to take care of our cat! She’s super sweet, flexible and reliable. I highly recommend and would definitely bring our cat again. 🐾

1
2
3
4
5
...
11
next page

Availability

Charlene's Pets

Yo
Cat
Lo
Cat
Luna
Cat

About Charlene's Home

Accepted pets

Cats
all kinds
Small animals
rodents, rabbits, ...

Charlene's home

A small outdoor area
Has no kids
24/7 Supervision
Emergency Transport

Skills

Specific Skills

I speak English
+10 years of experience

Can Administer

Oral medications
Injected medications

Stats

SMS
Verified
Email
Verified
Charlene

Charlene

Cat Specialist Host

Almere poort
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
10 EUR for each additional pet
15 EUR
/night
All services and rates
Contact Charlene

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

Book via Pawshake to enjoy The Pawshake Guarantee, 24/7 support, booking guarantee, safe cashless payments, daily updates and more!

Contact Charlene